top of page

Breaking down the dollars

Plane ticket to Bangkok: $801.16

First Abroad program fee: $1,759.00

Teaching in Thailand for a year: Priceless?

I'm here to break down some of the costs of traveling before you ever leave your bedroom to help you grasp the kind of economic deficit you'll be creating. I studied abroad in Ireland for about five months and upon my return to Kansas City all that was left of my "bank account" was $10. I'm determined to budget better this time around and come back with more than what I will be leaving with.

Proper travel gear is very important, whether that be a suitcase or backpack. I recently just purchased a Kelty Redwing 50 Liter M/L backpack off Ebags. It's essentially an Ebay for backpacks. I used it this past weekend while I visited a friend in Chicago, and I absolutely loved it. I packed for four days with both day and evening clothing and had room to spare. I would highly suggest investing in a good backpack before departure as it'll make weekend getaways much easier.

Kelty Redwing 50 Liter M/L backpack: $124.95

Being the modest culture that it is, I had to do away with some of my favorite outfits before leaving for Thailand. That means no shoulders, knees or cleavage. It is also considered disrespectful to have tattoos exposed, so this wonderful roman numeral tattoo gracing my arm is going to have to go into hiding for the time being. For those of you with little money to spend, especially on clothing, I found great deals for light blouses and skirts at T.J. Maxx, Marshalls and Earthbound Trading Company.

Earthbound Trading Co. button up blouse: $27.95

T.J. Maxx knee length printed skirt: $12.00

Marshalls blouse: $19.99

One of your most expensive endeavors is going to be applying for (and hopefully receiving) your visa. I applied for a non-immigrant B visa, but there are different ones that have different costs.

Visa cost plus shipping/postage: $212.75

Flights are another wallet crushing expense that I would highly suggest doing some research before making a purchase. I have loved using student universe. Not only do students get great discounts, but they also compare prices of many other travel websites without an onslaught of annoying advertisements.

Flight to Bangkok with two layovers: $801.16

Travel insurance is required through my program provider, but is is recommended . I got mine through International Medical Group. This is the cost of six months of insurance, of which I will renew in another six months.

Travel Insurance for six months: $144.75

Those are all of the major expenses I can think of right now. Let me know if you have anything else in mind I might have purchased, and I will be sure to add it to the list! Thanks for reading!

Official countdown: 7 DAYS!

 FOLLOW kelly: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page