top of page

Poisoned, placed and still sweaty

I find myself updating this thing less and less, because writing a blog almost entirely about myself and my experiences feels so egotistic and narcissistic and unlike what I’m used to writing. I must remember that I have this website to keep you informed, as I am well aware that my lack of communication back home has left some of you (Patty) in a constant state of worry. For that, I apologize. But, getting my grimy hands (there’s no soap anywhere) on wifi is much harder than you think. I have, however, discovered a small corner of my twin bed in which I can get wifi if I lie very still with my phone above my head. Otherwise, I am out of luck.

A quick update for those of you still reading. I got very sick last Sunday. I woke up with a high fever and chills. Thailand is the hottest country I have ever traveled to, and I am constantly glistening in a layer of sweat in which no lack of clothing will help. Everyday is quite possibly the sweatiest day of my life. I only tell you these things because that Sunday, I could not get warm for the life of me. I was wearing multiple pairs of pants, a jacket, a hoodie, socks and I was taking hot showers almost every six hours to stop my chills. On top of this, I could not control any of my bowels and actually woke myself up one evening by throwing up. This went on and off for about four days before I decided I should probably address the problem.

I was told I had bronchitis, given an inhaler and some nasal spray and sent about my merry way. I forced the nurses to take my blood, because I was sure I had malaria or dengue fever or worse. They all but laughed in my face but agreed to take my blood. I received a call the next day telling me I had blood poisoning, and I needed to stay in the hospital for 3-4 days for treatment and observation. Patty informs me that I almost died, which it definitely felt like, but otherwise, I am feeling great now and am thankful for the care I received. I did not understand the intensity of the language barrier until I was in the hospital trying to understand what they were giving to me, what I was paying for, what my insurance was covering and more fun things in that regard. Anyways, I lived and am on antibiotics for the next month. Whoo!

My last day of my TESOL course is tomorrow, and it is very bittersweet. I will be leaving for Bangkok Saturday morning. That is where I will be teaching at least until March. I will be teaching intensive English to teenagers at Watprasreemahathad Demonstration School. I am told by my agent that in March, I can decide if I would like to relocate to a different school. I am hoping I love Bangkok so much I can continue teaching my students there. Many of the people in the course are placed in the middle of nowhere Thailand where they will be the only westerner for miles. While I am happy for the amenities I will have in Bangkok, I find myself thinking I may be missing out on a more authentic experience. We shall see.

I’ve met some pretty amazing people here, and it’s so sad to be leaving them all in a couple of days. Thailand is a very large country, and I’m a good 12 hours away from people I really care about. I’m hoping though that traveling to Bangkok alone will allow me to really immerse myself into the Thai culture. I won’t have westerners to fall back on for company. It’s a scary, liberating thought. On that note, I am going to study for my TESOL exam. Could you imagine if I failed?

Teaching at Pranburi English Camp! We had a scavenger hunt. Of course I'm hunched over....

This is Beam. She is so smart and incredibly witty. I wish I could be her teacher :( Go Team Monster Energy (like the drink).


 FOLLOW kelly: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page